final rectangle.jpg
 

بهدف دعم الدولة نحو تطوير سياسات تلبي حاجة المجتمع، تقوم منظمة س من خلال هذه الدراسة بدور الوسيط الموضوعي بين الدولة كمقدم للخدمات و بين المستفيد من هذه الخدمات من خلال جمع البيانات حول إحتياجات المستخدم وتقييم للوضع الحالي حسب تطلعاته، ثم إستخالص توصيات لتطوير سياسات الدولة بناًء على ذلك.

 

تركزت الدراسة حول المرافق الثقافية العامة كإحدى أنواع الموارد الثقافية نظرًا لأهمية هذا المورد للقطاع كأساس للنشاطات الثقافية، كما أنه نقطة إلتقاء بين صناع الثقافة والمجتمع حيث تتشكل قيم الثقافة الإجتماعية والإقتصادية. استهدف البحث مجموعة المستخدم المباشر للمرافق الثقافية العامة التي تم حصرها (وهم النشطاء الثقافيين من فنانين ومدراء منظمات مجتمع مدني ثقافية) ممن استخدموا المرافق المحددة لمرة على الأقل منذ سنة 2019.

تحدد النطاق الجغرافي للمشروع أولاً بشكل عام في سبع محلات من بلدية طرابلس المركز والتي تشكل المركز الحيوي للعاصمة، وثانيًا بشكل خاص في محلة المدينة القديمة حيث يتركز العدد الأكبر من المرافق الثقافية النشطة حسب نتائج البحث.

على مدى تسعة أشهر، تضمنت الدراسة عدة مراحل لفهم آراء واحتياجات المستخدم المباشر و لحصر وتوثيق الخدمات المتاحة، ذلك بمنهجية تجمع بين البيانات النوعية والبيانات الكمية من خلال: مقابالت وحلقة نقاش مع عينة من النشطاء الثقافيين، مقابالت مع صناع القرار على المستوى المحلي، زيارات ميدانية، و تحليل السياسات الحالية.

writer png.png

ورقــــــة إحاطــــــة

بتقديم خلاصة المشروع وتحليل نتائجه، تحدد هذه الورقة بعض الفجوات بين سياسات إدارة المرافق الثقافية واحتياجات المستخدمين، و تبرز الفرص لتطوير السياسات العامة لقطاع الثقافة على المستوى المحلي كنموذج يمكن تكراره ليعود على المستوى الوطني نحو تنمية ثقافية شاملة.

07 2021

 

خريطة المرافق الثقافية العامة

ضمن المحلات السبع المركزية التابعة لبلدية وسط طرابلس

map.png
13
1
2
3
4
5
7
6
8
9
10
11
14
12
15
music png.png
 

قاعدة بيانات أساسية

 

تـــــــــــــــحـليل

النشاطات الفنية

تكشف الخريطة وقاعدة البيانات الأساسية أعلاه عن توزيع المرافق بين الممارسات الثقافية

يتبين بالتالي غياب التساوي في عدد المرافق المتاحة لبعض النشاطات الفنية مقارنةً بأخرى

Bar png.png

مساحات فارغة    مجهز جزئيًا       الموسيقي         النحت           ندوات            الخزف          السينما           الأدب           المسرح    الفنون الجميلة

نوع المرافق

تكشف البيانات عن فجوة في السياسات الثقافية العامة من حيث الإهتمام بتوفير مرافق توزيع فقط مع غياب مرافق مخصصة للإنتاج لمعظم أنواع النشاطات الفنية بإستثناء المسرح حيث يمكن إستخدامه لبعض الجوانب من الإنتاج المسرحي

مرافق الانتاج

chart png.png

15٪

85٪

مرافق التوزيع

production.png

مرافق الانتاج

disribution .png

مرافق التوزيع

توزيع المرافق

للتقييم النظر في إمكانية الوصول الجغرافي للمجتمعات المحلية إلى المساحات الثقافية ضمن تخطيط البلدية ، تُظهر البيانات التوزيع غير المتكافئ للمرافق الثقافية بين المحلات

 

يبدو من خلال البيانات غياب سياسات تهتم بالتوزيع الجغرافي المتساوي للمرافق بين المحلات لأهمية ذلك في جعلها قريبة ومتاحة للمجتمعات المحلية. يلاحظ أن العدد الأكبر من المرافق الثقافية في نطاق المشروع تقع داخل مدينة طرابلس القديمة؛ موقع تاريخي يديره جهاز إدارة المدينة القديمة

 8      مـــحـــلـة      المدينة القديمة
1            مـــحـــلـة      عمر المختار
   3        مـــحـــلـة      ميدان الشهداء
0                    مـــحـــلـة      بالخير
   1                  مـــحـــلـة      الظهرة
1                 مـــحـــلـة      الصريم
1            مـــحـــلـة      عين الدوارة

Mahallas 2.png

8

1

1

3

1

1

 

تقرير 1: مقابلات مع المستخدمين

الهدف: مسح تقييم المستخدم للخدمات والاحتياجات الحالية
مجموعة التركيز: المستخدمون المباشرون للمرافق المعنية ؛ أي الفنانين ومديري المجتمع المدني الثقافي

ضمن مشروع حصر الموارد الثقافية، أقيم هذا الإستطلاع لغرض فهم آراء صناع الثقافة والفنون حول الدعم المقدم لهم من الدولة من خلال المرافق الثقافية العامة والخدمات المتوفرة بها كإحدى الموارد الثقافية الملموسة الأساسية للقطاع

إتخذ البحث منهجية المقابلات المباشرة الشبه منظمة مع 12 شخصية  كعينة من مستخدمي المرافق التي تم توثيقيها في خارطة الموارد الثقافة لهذا المشروع ، وتم استبعاد المرافق المقفلة منذ 2019 حسب مصادر من المؤسسات العامة المعنية. المشاركين في هذا الإستطلاع هم فنانين أو مدراء منظمات مجتمع مدني الثقافية الذين استخدموا هذه المرافق مرة واحدة على الأقل منذ عام 2019.

ملخص المقابلات

اعرب المستخدمين عن سعادتهم باقامة الانشطة وبمشاركة الجمهور المتزايدة والذي يمكنهم من توصيل الرسائل التي يحملها الفن كنوع من التاثير المجتمعي . وما يجعل  العملية سلسة من وجهة نظرهم هو سهولة اجرائات حجز الفضائات الثقافيه

ولكن هناك بعض الصعوبات والنقص في الإمكانيات المتوفرة التي تجعلهم ملزمون بالتخطيط والتجهيز لفترة طويلة قبل اقامة النشاط مما يحد من عدد الانشطة الثقافية التي يمكنهم التجهيز لها في العام

ذكر المستخدمون بأنهم ملزمون بتنظيف المكان قبل الحدث ، و أحياناً طلائه مجددا لان الاماكن تكاد تكون مهجورة ولا تفتح الا حين اقامة النشاط الفني ، فتكون المبادرة بشكل شخصي لتوفيرمعدات التنظيف والصيانه ايضا إن لزم الامر

من جهة أخرى ، لوحظ تحسين مؤخراً في بعض الاماكان الثقافيه مثل دار حسن الفقيه و دار نويجي كما قال 4 من المستخدمين حيث تتوفر الآن معدات تكبير الصوت التي كانت في السابق مسؤولية توفيرها علي المستخدم ، كما تحسنت الإضاءة الاصطناعية بعض الشيء في دار الفقيه منذ بضعة سنوات إستجابةً للإستخدام المتكرر لإحدى الغرف كمعرض للوحات الفنية ولكن لا تزال الإضاءة غير متوافقة مع معايير المعارض الفنية.

تحدث 6 من المستخدمين عن مشكلة  ضيق المساحات و صعوبة استقبال عدد كبير من الجمهور بها خصوصاً في ظل جائحة كورونا ، إضافةً إلى عدم إمكانية عرض عدد كبير من الأعمال

في المقابل ، ذكر المستخدمين أنه في حالة رغبتهم في عرض عدد أكبر من الأعمال فانهم مضطرون لإيجار أماكن أخرى حيث تتوفر مساحة أكبر على عكس المرافق الثقافية العامة المجانية والصغيرة في حجمها

 اضاف 2 من المستخدمين بأنهم يواجهون صعوبة في ايجاد الاماكن المناسبة لاعطاء دورات تدريبية في الفنون بسبب ما تتطلبه الانشطه الفنية من بيئة مخصصه يسمح فيها باستعمال مواد سائله حيث يخشي ان تتعرض الارضية او الجدران للتلف

 

و هذا الامرلا يختلف كثيرا عن وضع الفنون  المسرحيه حسب آراء 4 مشاركين من هذا المجال ، حيث ذكروا بأنه في الوقت الحالي لا يتوفر للمسرحين في طرابلس مساحات للتدريب والذي ساهم في توقف العروض المسرحية في طرابلس من وجهة نظرهم ، كما اعربوا عن حالة من الإحباط بسبب إفتقاد المجال للدعم والتحفيز من جهة ومن جهة أخرى بسبب مشاكل حول ملكية بعض من المسارح المتبقية وخلافات مؤسساتية حول الاستخدامات والمسؤوليات المالية ، والتي بالتالي أدت إلى قفل بعض المرافق وركود المجال المسرحي

الخلاصة

يتبين من مجموعة الاراء التي تم توثيقها  خلال هذه الدراسة بأن الضعف يكمن في ادارة المرافق والإستثمار في تطويرها خدمياً ، فالمتاح حالياً عدد من المساحات المخصصة ولكن لا يتوفر في معظمها المعدات أو الخصائص التي تتوافق مع النشاط ومعاييره، خصوصاً وأن بعض المباني المخصصة للنشاطات الثقافية داخل وخارج المدينة القديمة هي مبان تاريخية شيدت لإستخدامات أخرى فتكون إعادة التوظيف إما غير متكاملة أو مقيدة للحفاظ على الهوية التاريخية للمبنى. هذا إضافةً إلى وجود أنشطة فنية حية محلياً ولكن لم يخصص لها مرافق كالفنون الحرفية بانواعها حتي تكاد تكون منسيه وغريبة علي المجتمع. ختاماً، هناك بعض التحسينات المتواضعة ولكن لابد من مراجعة السياسات وتحسين استراتجيات دعم القطاع الثقافي خصوصاً

painter png.png
 

نقاش حول الطاولة

بشأن الاحتياجات وتوصيات السياسة
مجموعة التركيز: المديرين والمستخدمين على المدى الطويل للمنشآت الثقافية العامة والخاصة


ساعتان ، 26 نوفمبر 2021

GOPR0188_1606502331756.JPG
00:00 / 2:03:25

في إطـار الـمرحـلـة الـثـانـيـة مـن هـذا الـشـروع , عقدت حلقة نقاش لاشـراك آراء 8 مـن الـفـاعـلـين الـثـقـافـيـين الـرائـديـن حول

أهمية المرافق الثقافية العامة للعاملين في القطاع والمجتمعات المحلية -

نقاط القوة والفجوات -

توصيات -


محاور النقاش

لماذا المجال الثقافي؟ -

تعريف الحراك الثقافي ومقوماته -

دور الرافق الثقافية في الحياة العامة -

مرافق الإنتاج و مرافق العرض , ودور كل منهما -

قراءة لواقع المرافق الثقافية العامة في مدينة طرابلس -

ما تصورك للمرافق الملائمة ؟ -

توصيات ومقترحات -

ملخص أهم النقاط التي طرحت من قبل المشاركين

 

الصعوبات ونقاط الضعف

  • من ناحية، النشاط الثقافي الذي يقوده المجتمع المدني والشخصيات الفنية  معزول عن باقي المجتمع حيث يلاحظ تواجد نفس الدائرة من الجمهور في جميع المناسبات، كما يوجد عزوف في النشاط الثقافي الذي يسعى لمخاطبة وإشراك المجتمع. من ناحية أخرى، النشاط الثقافي الذي تقوده الجهات الحكومية مغيب وليس له دور يذكر، و يعاني من الكلاسيكية اللتي لم تعد تواكب إحتياجات الفنان والمجتمع في هذا العصر

  • المبادرات المستقلة للأفراد أو المجموعات أو المنظمات هي ثقافة جديدة لم نعهدها طيلة فترة نظام الجماهرية السابق. عليه يجب الأخذ بجملة من الاعتبارات الامنية واختلاف فهم الثقافة وتداعياتها

  • يتوفر عدد جيد من الفضاءات الثقافية المناسبة و اللتي تتماشى مع النشاط الثقافي بحجمه الحالي المتواضع والضعيف. ولكن عدد من الفراغات الثقافية مقفلة بسبب تحديات إدارية وتشغيلية.

 

  • لا يتم اشرك الناشطين الثقافيين المختصين في تفعيل هذه الفراغات واللذين قد يكون بإمكانهم تقديم مستوى أفضل من الإدارة والخدمات.

 

  • يلاحظ عدم اهتمام المؤسسات الحكومية بالصناعات التقليدية والتراث الفني ولا توجد سياسات واضحة بهذا الخصوص، بالرغم من امكانية التوأمة و اخد الخبرة والتبادل الثقافي مع دول مجاورة قامت بالحفاظ والتشجيع بالموروث والنشاط الثقافي بشكل يرتقي بالقطاع.

 

  • هناك خلط بين مفهوم فراغات العرض وفراغات الإنتاج الفني، وغياب الإهتمام بتوفير فراغات مخصصة ومجهزة للإنتاج

  • لا يوجد رابط تواصل فعال بين الأفراد الناشطين والفنانين والمؤسسات الحكومية. بعض المؤسسات الحكومية لديها بيروقراطيات لا تسمح للشراكة مع افراد او مؤسسات خاصة، وليس لها الامكانيات لإدارة هذه الشراكة. كما يوجد عزوف عن مشاركات الجهات الحكومية من قبل المنظمات والفنانين لضعف ما يمكن للأول اضافته للثاني

 

  • اعرب اغلب المشاركين عن الحاجة الملحة للتطوير سياسات المؤسسات الحكومية المعنية بالمرافق، والعمل على فتح الشراكة العادلة مع الناشطين / المشغلين الثقافيين والفنانين، حتى يتسنى لهم المساهمة في تطوير المرافق الثقافية وبالتالي القطاع

 

 

ملخص ما أوصى به المشاركون

  •   ترسيخ ثقافة التعاون في الإدارة الثقافية عبر المشاركة، تقييم الفنون، التشغيل والانخراط  وكل الاعتبارات التي ترفع من البنية التحتية لهذا القطاع

 

  • يجب تهيئة المشغلين الثقافيين بالمرافق وبناء قدراتهم والاستعانة بمقيمين فنيين متخصصين في الفنون حيث يمكن توظيفهم لفترة مؤقتة أوعبر برامج إدماج

  •  الانفتاح وإعادة النظر في سبل التوصل والتشبيك بين منظمات المجتمع المدني والمؤسسات الحكومية لإتاحة فرص لفهم أعمق للمتغيرات الخاصة بالحراك الثقافي والمشهد العام

 

  • الربط بين كلية الفنون والمراكز الثقافية عبر برامج توطد العلاقات وتفتح فرص لخلق مدراء ثقافيين جدد

 

  •  تحديد هوية كل فراغ ثقافي حيث يخصص كل مبنى لنشاط فني معين، مما يمكن من بناء الخدمات الإدارية والتقنية الملائمة لذلك النشاط في كل مرفق وخلق البيئة المناسبة له

  • تحسين السياسات (تحديداً الخاصة بإدارة جهاز المدينة القديمة) بخصوص إدارة الفراغات الثقافية وإدارة العقود الخاصة بهم والتطبيق العادل لهذه السياسات بوضع آليات متابعة وتقييم لهذه الفراغات

 

(مبدئي) استطلاع آراء

ضمن مشروع حصر الموارد الثقافية، تم تنفيذ عدد أربعة من المقابلات (محددة جزئياً semi-structured) مع أربعة من المسؤولين, هم:

  • صناع القرار من مكتب الثقافة، طرابلس،

  • ولجنة الثقافة في بلدية طرابلس المركز،

  • و عضو في اللجنة الإدارية وموظف في جهاز إدارة المدينة القديمة طرابلس،

تحديداً من هم في موقع تواصل مباشر مع المرافق الثقافية المشمولة في نطاق المشروع.

الهدف من المقابلات هو فهم وجهة النظر الأخرى من منظور العاملين في مؤسسات الدولة المعنية، وإظهار الصعوبات التي تعرقل تطوير المرافق وخدمتها حسب تطلعات المستخدمين. 

 

(هذا إستطلاع أولي يتبعه في مشروع آخر دراسة مفصلة حول السياسات الثقافية العامة للدولة.) 

 

ملخص المقابلات: 

  • حول الصعوبات التي توجهها مؤسسات الدولة في قطاع الثقافة والتي تساهم في ضعف الخدمات التي يتلقاها المستخدم، ذكر الأستاذ مدير مكتب الثقافة (طرابلس) التابع لوزارة الثقافة والتنمية المعرفية بحكومة الوحدة الوطنية أن هناك نقص في الاحصائيات والبيانات، خاصة تلك المتعلقة بالمرافق الثقافية، وبالتالي ردود فعل المكتب محدودة حتى الآن لعدم وضوح وضعية المرافق وإحتياجاتها. و يضيف بأنه من المتوقع أن الوضع سيتغير قريبا حيث صرح عن خطط لترميم وصيانة المباني الثقافية (بما يشمل أيضا المباني الرياضية) لرغبة مكتب الثقافة في إعادة تدعيم الثقافة داخل طرابلس وجعلها أكثر شمولية. كما أوضح مدير مكتب الثقافة أن هناك بعض التحديات الخارجة عن ارادتهم، منها التحديات الأمنية التي تعرقل عمل المكتب (مثل عدم قدرتهم على الولوج لبعض المرافق الثقافية نتيجة سيطرة او فرض اغلاقها من بعض الجهات). ​

  • حول اشراك الفنانين و مؤسسات المجتمع المدني وبناء الشراكات معهم من أجل تشابك الخبرات و وضع حلول مشتركة لتخطي الصعوبات، تطرق الأستاذ رئيس لجنة الثقافة في بلدية طرابلس المركز إلى خططهم في بناء قناة تواصل مع مستخدمين المرافق الثقافية من خلال اجتماعات دورية بهدف الحديث عن احتياجات الدور الثقافية. كما ذكر رغبة اللجنة (التي باشرت العمل حديثا) عن تنفيذ بعض السياسات الجديدة فيما يخص تعاون لجنة الثقافة بالبلدية مع النشطاء العاملين في المجال الثقافي داخل نطاق البلدية.

  • من ناحية إيجابية (والتي تدعمها البيانات الظاهرة في الخارطة أعلاه، وقواعد البيانات، وأراء المستخدمين في هذا المشروع التي توضح تركيز النشاط الثقافي في الأونة الأخيرة على المرافق الواقعة داخل محلة المدينة القديمة مقارنة بغيرها) ذكر مهندس من جهاز إدارة المدينة القديمة طرابلس أن هناك خطط لتسهيل اجراءات حجز واستخدام المرافق الثقافية الواقعة ضمن محلة المدينة القديمة للتسهيل على المستخدمين. كما ذكر ان الجهاز على تواصل مباشر مع العديد من المستخدمين ونشطاء المجتمع المدني المهتمين بالمرافق الثقافية ضمن ادارتهم، وشدد على أهمية وجود تواصل مستمر ومدى مساهمة ذلك في اثراء الحركة الثقافية وازدهار الحياة في المرافق خاصة تلك التاريخية منها.

  • حول توزيع المرافق الثقافية وتوفير الدعم بشكل متساو على المجتمعات المحلية، أوضح الأستاذ عضو المجلس البلدي والمدير السابق لإدارة المشروعات والتخطيط في بلدية طرابلس المركز أن البلدية بالعموم تعمل على تحقيق اللامركزية ووضع السياسات لذلك، حيث أنها لم تكن في ما سبق تعمل بحرية لوضع السياسات والاحكام التي تراها مناسبة، نظراً لأن ذلك لم يكن من اختصاصها.

تحليل:

لا يخفى على أحد وجود ضعف في الأداء التنفيذي في ما يخص قيام المرافق الثقافية العامة بدورها حسب إحتياجات المستخدمين. ولكن يظهر هنا بأن الأسباب لا تقتصر فقط على ضعف القدرات وشح في بعض جوانب السياسات (مثل غياب سياسة الشراكة أو التقييم على سبيل المثال لا الحصر)، بل يعود كذلك لعراقيل إدارية وتضارب الاختصاصات إلى جانب تحديات مالية وأمنية - مما يبرز إنعكاس الوضع في مستوى الدولة على المستوى المحلي. 

بالرغم من ذلك، هناك مساحة للتطوير وبعض الحلول المتاحة، كما يؤكد ذلك أداء بعض المؤسسات الحكومية ونجاحها (النسبي) في إستقطاب المستخدمين والمهتمين. ولكن، في المجمل توجد فجوة ملحوظة في التواصل والتعاون بين أصحاب المصلحة من الجانبين الحكومي والغير حكومي، حيث يوجد غياب لاليات رسمية وواضحة للتواصل أو/و التقييم التي تشرك المستخدم و تضمن أخذ وجهة نظره في عين الإعتبار. 

ويذكر أنه نظراً لمنهجية هذا الجزء من الدراسة المعتمدة على المقابلات المحددة جزئياً بهدف اتاحة المساحة لإبراز ما يحضى بإهتمام وأولويات  المشاركين، يتضح توجه معظم الإجابات نحو الخطط والمساعي، بمقابل ما يبدو إهتمام أقل بتوضيح و تحليل الوضع الحالي والذي هو جانب مهم من التخطيط للحلول ولعملية التواصل الفعال بين مقدم الخدمة والمستفيد منها. 

من ناحية أخرى، يشير ذلك لإدراك بشكل عام لنواحي الضعف الحالية وبالتلي التركيز على الحلول. فتبدو من خلال المقابلات بأن هناك رغبة من صناع القرار في وضع سياسات جديدة لتحسين عمل ومخرجات المرافق الثقافية؛ إدراكاً انه بإمكان المرافق الثقافية أن تساهم نحو رخاء المجتمع وإزدهاره معرفياً و التحسن الإقتصادي. هنا يكمن التقاطع بين أصحاب المصلحة من جهات حكومية وغير حكومية، وبالتالي تبرز فرصة تقارب يمكن الإستثمار فيها لبناء التعاون نحو الأهداف المشتركة. 

 

قاعدة بيانات مفصلة 

للمرافق الثقافية العامة بمحلة المدينة القديمة 

footer.png
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube

CONTACT US  ON FACEBOOK: SCENE.TRIPOLI  TWITTER: @SCENETRIPOLI

off white PNG.png
Logo.jpg
C.png

final rectangle.jpg
 

The Cultural Resource Mapping project identifies, classifies, and analyses public cultural facilities in the central 7 Mahallas of the Municipality of Central Tripoli, and records direct-beneficiaries’ opinions about the tangible and managerial services offered within them. The aim is to assess and inform public local-level support to the cultural sector.

Being the first baseline cultural resource database in Libya, the study is therefore focused on breadth rather than depth of information in order to establish a fundamental record of the number, typologies, distribution, and ownership of public facilities. This paves the path for further in-depth studies. 

 

On this web page, all data collected, the methodologies, and the findings are  made publicly available to inform the public and support peer initiatives and research. This is also provided to local State authorities responsible for developing the facilities within the scope targeted by the project. In this way, the project contributes to Municipal cultural planning and encourages grassroot-responsive policies.

Policy Briefing Paper

By presenting the project summary and analyzing its results, this paper identifies some gaps between cultural facilities management policies and users' needs, and highlights opportunities to develop public policies for the culture sector at the local level as a model that can be replicated to return at the national level towards comprehensive cultural development.

07 2021

 

Map of Public Cultural Facilities

within the 7 central Mahallas of the Municipaity of Central Tripoli

13
1
2
3
4
5
7
6
8
9
10
11
14
12
15
 

Baseline Database

 

Analysis

1) Supported Practices

The map and Baseline Cultural Resource Database above reveal the distribution of facilities amongst cultural practices. This emphasises the lack of spaces made available for some art activities compared to others.

Fine arts           Theatre            Literature           Cinema            Pottery           Seminars            Music            Sculpting     Partly equipped   Empty space

2) Type of Support

The study reveals a critical gap in public cultural policies where all facilities available are for the distribution of finished art products, with the exception of two theatre spaces where performing arts rehearsals can take place. No art production spaces are available for all other forms of arts and culture.  

Production Facilities

chart png.png

15%

85%

Distribution Facilities

Production Facilities

Distribution Facilities

3) Distribution of Support

For evaluating the consideration of geographic accessibility of local communities to cultural spaces within Municipality planning, the data shows unequal distribution of cultural facilities amongst the Mahallas. 

53% of the total public cultural facilities located within the central 7 Mahallas of the Municipality are located within the Old City of Tripoli; a historical site managed by an independent public heritage Authority.

   8             The Old City
Omar Al Mukhtar     1
   3          Martyrs Square
 0                       Belkher
   1                          Dahra
 1                     Al Sreim
1          Ain Al Dowara

8

1

1

3

1

1

 

Report: Interviews with Users

Objective: Survey user evaluation of existing services & needs
Focus Group: First-hand users of mapped facilities; i.e. artists & cultural civil society managers

This survey was conducted for the purpose of understanding the views of culture and arts makers on the support provided to them by the state through public cultural facilities and services as one of the main tangible cultural resources of the sector .

The research took a semi-structured face-to-face interview methodology with 12 persons as a sample of the users of the facilities documented in the cultural resource map of this project, and the facilities closed since 2019 were excluded according to sources from the public institutions concerned. Participants in this poll are artists or managers, civil society organizations, cultural who use these facilities at least once since 2019.

Findings:

Participants expressed that they are pleased with the increasing number of art activities and of audience participation in recent years, allowing them to disseminate the messages within their arts as a means of social impact. For most facilities, this is made possible due to the easy booking procedures with no fee in many of the public spaces. However, there are weaknesses and lacks in the means made available to them that require planning for a long period before the event, consequently limiting the number of events and/or programmes that can be prepared for per annum.

4 participants noted that there has recently been some technical improvement such as in Dar Al-Faqih Hassan and Dar Nueji cultural facilities within the Old City. Microphones and a projector are now made available within the space whilst in the past users were responsible for arranging to rent such basic equipment. On the other hand, basic spotlight fixtures within the seminar room at Dar Al-Faqih Hassan have been added in response to the increasing use of it as a gallery space by the users. Despite the improvement, the lighting currently installed does not meet professional art gallery standards.

Addressing the management of the facilities, participants mentioned that they often find themselves having to clean a place before an event, and sometimes even paint it, because the facilities are usually abandoned and opened only upon occasional events.

6 participants spoke about the problem of space constraints. Many of the spaces allocated for cultural activities are small. This restricts the number of art work displayed and the number of audience possible to accommodate, especially since the COVID19 pandemic. If users want to display more work the only available option is to rent other spaces as opposed to the free but smaller public cultural facilities.

Moreover, 2 of the interviewed users said that it is difficult to find venues for their public workshops; given that these activities require a production space in which it is allowed to use liquid paints, for instance, without worrying about damaging the space.

[See previous section on the absence of art production facilities.]

Not much different is the situation for the performing arts, according to 4 participants in this field who mentioned that there are no dedicated rehearsal spaces for theatre actors other than the theatre auditorium. The participants expressed a state of frustration amongst the theatre community; on one hand due to the lack of encouragement and support by the State, and on the other hand because of institutional conflicts regarding the ownership, budgets, or management of some of the few remaining theatres. These consequently led to the closure of some facilities and the weakening of theatre in the capital city.  

Conclusion:​

It becomes apparent through the opinions surveyed that the weaknesses lie within the management of facilities and the investment in developing the services offered within them. Positively, a number of facilities are currently available; however, most are not of spatial and/or technical characteristics that comply with the activity to which it is allocated, and its standards. This is particularly because many of the dedicated spaces lie within historical buildings in and beyond the Old City, thereby constructed for other functions whilst the process of rehabilitation/re-functioning is often either incomplete or restricted in order to preserve the historical identity of the building.

 

Roundtable Discussion

On needs & policy recommendations
Focus Group:   Managers and long-term users of public and private cultural facilities 


2hrs, 26 November 2021

GOPR0188_1606502331756.JPG
00:00 / 2:03:25

Summary of Roundtable Discussion

Within the second phase of the project, a panel discussion was held to engage the views of 8 leading cultural actors on:

  • The importance of public cultural facilities for actors in the sector and local communities;

  • Strengths and gaps; and,

  • Recommendations.

Topics discussed

  • Why culture and arts? 

  • Defining the 'cultural movement' and its characteristics.

  • The role of cultural facilities in public life.

  • Distribution facilities and production facilities, and their respective roles.

  • Reading into the conditions of public cultural facilities in the city of Tripoli today.

  • How do you envision appropriate facilities? 

  • Solutions and recommendations.

 

A summary of the main points raised by the participants (all views below are of the participants') :

1) Challenges and weaknesses:

  • On one hand, cultural activities led by civil society and independent artists are isolated from the rest of society; where the same circle of creators and consumers repeatedly dominates in most events. Moreover, there is a noticeable reluctance in activities that seek to communicate to and engage the broader society. On the other hand, cultural activities led by governmental institutions have a weak and limited influence. These are usually limited to a repetitively classic approach that no longer keeps pace with the needs and interests of artists and society in this era.

  • Independent initiative by individuals, groups or organizations is a new culture that we have no experience with before 2011. Moreover, we must take into account that this is a new practice for the society, which must be re-introduced to the role of culture for public benefits.  This includes security considerations as a precipitate inherited from the controlling and surveilling policies of the past regime. 

  • A number of suitable cultural spaces are available today that meet the needs of the cultural practice in its current modest size. However, some cultural spaces are closed due to administrative and operational challenges.

  • Cultural experts who may be able to assist government institutions in providing a better level of management and services are not being involved.

  • Government institutions do not demonstrate evident support for the traditional crafts industry and there are no clear policies in this regard - despite the available opportunities for twinning and exchanging experience with neighboring countries that have succeeded in sustaining traditional crafts. Exchange can aid in advancing the sector in Libya.

  • There is a confusion amongst governmental and non-governmental actors over the concepts of 'production facilities' versus 'distribution facilities'. Authorities indicate no attention to providing art production spaces in the city. 

  • There is no effective communication stream between non-governmental cultural actors and government institutions. Some government institutions have bureaucracies that do not facilitate partnerships with individuals or private institutions nor do they have the capabilities to manage this partnership. There is also a reluctance to participate in government agencies by organizations and artists due to double what the first can add to the second

  • There is a need to develop the public policies of local government institutions responsible for managing the facilities, especially policies that aim to build partnerships with non-governmental experts who can contribute to the development of cultural facilities and, in turn, the sector.

2) Recommendations:

  • Establish a culture of cooperation in cultural management through participation, user evaluation, and employment/integration of experts that can assist in strengthening sectorial infrastructure.

  • Improve equipment in facilities and develop managerial capacities.

 

  • Reconsider means of communicating and networking between civil society organizations and government institutions. Improved communication provides opportunities for a deeper understanding of the needs and opinions of the users for informing policy planning. 

  • Collaborate with university faculties of arts and cultural centers through programs that strengthen exchange and create opportunities that support emerging cultural managers.

  • Better determine the identity of each cultural space where each building is dedicated to a specific cultural activity. This enables building the appropriate managerial and technical services for the specific activity/activities in each facility and fostering environments that are relevant for the users and the needs.

  • Improve policies regarding the management of cultural facilities and contracts with long-term user to enable a fair opportunity between stakeholders to access and benefit from the spaces. This should include policies that emphasise mechanisms for monitoring and evaluating these facilities and the impact of their uses.

 

Report: Interviews with Decision-Makers

A preliminary inquiry into the issue from the perspective of local governance officials:

Within the Cultural Resource Mapping project, semi-structured interviews were carried out with four officials in positions connected to the cultural facilities mapped in the scope of the project. These are:

  • A Decision maker from the Culture Office, Tripoli;

  • A member of the Culture Committee in the Municipality of Central Tripoli;

  • Two officials from the Old City Tripoli Administration Bureau, including a Board member.

The objective of the interviews is to form a preliminary understanding of issue from the perspective of governmental institutions; particularly regarding plans and challenges hindering the development of cultural facilities to meet the needs of the users.

 

Summary of the interviews:

  • Addressing the difficulties faced by governmental institutions that render weaknesses and gaps in the services received by the users, the Director of the Culture Office in Tripoli that is affiliated to the Ministry of Culture and Cognitive Development of the Government of National Unity stated that there is a lack of surveys and data, especially those related to cultural facilities. For that reason, the response of the Office is limited due to the lack of clarity regarding the status of the facilities and their needs. Nonetheless, the Director adds that they expect an improvement as he announced plans to restore and maintain cultural facilities (including sport facilities), based on the desire of the Culture Office to re-strengthen the cultural practice in Tripoli and make it more inclusive. Further, The Director of the Culture Office also explained that there are some challenges beyond their control. These include security challenges that impede the work of the Office; such as their inability to access some cultural facilities that are controlled, or forced to close, by other entities.

  • Regarding policies to involve artists and civil society organisations and build partnerships with them for joining assets to overcome difficulties, the Head of the Culture Committee in the Municipality of Central Tripoli noted their plans to build a channel of communication with users of cultural facilities through periodic meetings aiming to discuss the needs of the spaces. He further mentioned the desire of the Committee (appointed recently) to implement new policies regarding the cooperation of the Municipality's Culture Committee with activists working in the cultural field within the municipality.

 

  • Presenting a positive local example, (indicated also by the data shown in the above map, databases, and interviews documented in this project which show a concentration of cultural activity in the facilities located within the Old City Mahalla compared to others), an official from the Old City of Tripoli Administration Bureau said that there are plans to further facilitate procedures for booking and using the spaces that lie within their administration. They add that the Bureau is in direct contact with a number of users and civil society actors concerned with the cultural facilities, and emphasised the importance of continuous communication which contributes to enriching the cultural movement and the prosperity the facilities, especially those within historical buildings.

 

  • On the distribution of cultural facilities for providing equal access for local communities, a Member of the Municipal Council (a former Director of the Planning and Projects Office within the Municipality of Central Tripoli) explained that the Municipality in general is working to achieve decentralization and developing policies for this – noting the restrictions preventing them from working on such policies previously, since that did not previously lie within their responsibilities.

Analysis:

It is no secret that there is critical weakness in the executive performance that enables public cultural facilities to play a positive role that meets the expectations of their direct beneficiaries. However, it appears here that the reasons are not only limited to weak capacities and scarcity in some aspects of public policies (such as the absence of partnership or evaluation policies policy, for example), but also due to administrative obstacles and conflicts in institutional responsibilities, in addition to financial and security challenges – highlighting the impact of the national-level situation of the State on local-level performance.

In spite of that, there is room for development and some available solutions, as demonstrated by the performance of some local-level institutions and their (relative) success in fostering user interests and a relative-prospering of cultural activity within their scope. However, on the whole, there is a noticeable gap in communication and cooperation between the governmental and non-governmental stakeholders. Specifically, there is a general absence of formal and clear mechanisms for communication and/or evaluation that include the user and guarantees that their opinions will be taken into account.

Due to the semi-structured methodology of this part of the study chosen in order to allow for uncovering the interests and priorities deemed important by the participants, it is noticeable that the answers are focused towards plans and aspirations amid an apparently lower interest in addressing and analysing the current situation; which is an important aspect of solution finding and critical for the process of effective communication between the service provider and the beneficiary.

On the other hand, this indicates a general awareness of the current weaknesses; thus the focus on solutions. It appears through this preliminary inquiry that there is a desire on the part of decision makers to develop new policies to improve the work and outputs of cultural facilities. This indicates a common appreciation for the role of cultural facilities towards social and economic well-being. Here lies the intersection between governmental and non-governmental stakeholders, and thus the opportunity that can be invested in to build cooperation towards common benefits.

 

Detailed Database (pilot)

of Public Cultural Facilities within the Mahalla of the Old City

footer.png
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube

CONTACT US  ON FACEBOOK: SCENE.TRIPOLI  TWITTER: @SCENETRIPOLI

off white PNG.png
C.png